Istiqlál, 14 Asmá’ (Names), 179 B.E

Seen

The lilies of the valley (Convallaria majalis) are on the way out for this season. Interspersed among the browning leaves is the occasional bright-colored berry:

A harbinger of fall right around the corner…

Done

I made a post to the “Raising the Value of Learning” Slack group that summarized my game plan going forward with the various projects I’ve got going on:

This is a summary of how I can best honor the spirit of “Raising the Value of Learning” and respect my fellow colleagues in this group while contributing to several of the activities outlined in some of the channels.

First, I’m going to collaborate with Michael Greenman on his “Spreading Urban Agriculture” project just getting underway in the Columbus area. The activities about it will be logged in the #local-food-systems channel.

Second, during our weekly Zoom session yesterday, I committed to experiment with Larry Reader’s “collaboration website,” StudioCoLab. Rather than create a project on the site about the research and writing I’m doing about time-based economies, which in a point raised by Larry Reader sounded a bit scholarly / academic and absent of practical applications in the near term, instead I’ll setup some version of Michael’s initiative on StudioCoLab, probably in the “microfarmers” section. BTW, we have a new member of this group, Tyler Reed, who’s a gifted techno-wizard and general “Renaissance Man” and at one time dabbled somewhat seriously in the development of open source, local food production systems like this. Anyway, I digress.

Third, I’m going to move the review and edit posts about time-based economies out of this Slack group and replace them with links to the final posts to Greener Acres Value Network News on WordPress. Here’s an example. I’ll probably get one section posted per week. And I’ll report progress in the #timebanking channel.

Fourth, Michael has an interest in distributing newsletters he writes about the “How’s the Weather?” project through a service like MailChimp and I have an interest in learning how to do that without having to write them. It’s a match made in heaven, well, almost. Anyway, I’m going to give it a go and thought I would remark on what I’m learning along the way in the event that others can coach me when I stumble or may want to do something similar and can benefit from my experiences–kind of like raising the value of learning in practice ;-)

Fifth, I’m going to report on my activities to this group so that everyone can read what they want, when they want, if they want. I have no expectations that anyone respond unless, of course, I ask a direct question to someone by name. Concerning the logging of my time, I don’t know how to do that because I think about this stuff in one way or another most of the day and may even dream about it when I’m sleeping. How do I record that in a timebank given the current rules of engagement? So, I won’t bother for now.

Thanks for “listening.” If you have any comments, course corrections, or questions, let ‘em rip!

Noted

Astral Prospecting on Instagram and Astral Prospecting on Facebook

Marc Bosserman on Instagram Marc Bosserman on Facebook, and Marc Bosserman Music and Musings on YouTube

Tab’s Galaxy on YouTube

Quoted

God has sent forth the Prophets for the purpose of quickening the soul of man into higher and divine recognitions. He has revealed the heavenly Books for this great purpose. For this the breaths of the Holy Spirit have been wafted through the gardens of human hearts, the doors of the divine Kingdom opened to mankind and the invisible inspirations sent forth from on high. This divine and ideal power has been bestowed upon man in order that he may purify himself from the imperfections of nature and uplift his soul to the realm of might and power. God has purposed that the darkness of the world of nature shall be dispelled and the imperfect attributes of the natal self be effaced in the effulgent reflection of the Sun of Truth. The mission of the Prophets of God has been to train the souls of humanity and free them from the thralldom of natural instincts and physical tendencies. They are like unto Gardeners, and the world of humanity is the field of Their cultivation, the wilderness and untrained jungle growth wherein They proceed to labor. They cause the crooked branches to become straightened, the fruitless trees to become fruitful, and gradually transform this great wild, uncultivated field into a beautiful orchard producing wonderful abundance and outcome. 1


  1. ʻAbduʼl-Bahá. The Promulgation of Universal Peace: Talks Delivered by ʻAbduʼl-Bahá during His Visit to the United States and Canada in 1912. Edited by Howard MacNutt. 2nd ed. Wilmette, Ill: Baháʼí Publishing Trust, 1982, 310. https://www.bahai.org/library/authoritative-texts/abdul-baha/promulgation-universal-peace/22#437467020 [return]