’Idál, 16 ‘Aẓamat (Grandeur), 179 B.E

Seen

It’s difficult for me to prune healthy, growing houseplants or worse, throw them into compost bin because there’s no room for them inside ahead of frost In the fall and no one else wants them. In the early fall of 2020, just as I started to make decisions about where all those plants were going when moved indoors, the deer (yes, that same herd that goes after my hostas as I mentioned in yesterday’s post) ate off two of my three rather large spider plants (Chlorophytum comosum) down to their tubers. I took a chance and planted the roots and tubers, covered them with leaves, and waited to see if they made it through the winter. One did, the other not. Actually, the one that did survive put on substantial new growth throughout last summer. When I covered it with leaves last fall, I anticipated its return this spring, ready for action. Didn’t happen. Only one sprout — and here it is:

When I pruned the shoots off the remaining large plant when I brought it outside mid-May, I decided to put some of the “plantlets” I cut off around the one sprout to see if they take root and grow. So, another experiment is underway!

Done

I met a couple of people on Mastodon who are pushing the notion of open knowledge into brave new worlds. One of them, who goes by the Mastodon name “Freedom + Justice via Learning,“ manages the website freeschool which is a veritable treasure trove of insights about education and learning that lead to some really wonderful spaces.

The other, is Tio, who with his partner, Sasha, are collaborating on an amazing project called “TROM” which is really a comprehensive exploration into the concept of “trade free” and how it can inspire / precipitate the development of a very different social system that enables each of us to be our best selves through unselfish, non-transactional service to humanity. You can read more about him on his personal website.

Thanks to all of them, I’m now a member of friendica— a fediverse platform, i.e., “decentralized architecture,” as is Mastodon, through Tio’s trom.tf server. I’m not sure what I’m doing, but I’m up for giving it a go. What these folks and others are about has my attention!

More later…

Noted

Astral Prospecting on Instagram and Astral Prospecting on Facebook

Marc Bosserman on Instagram Marc Bosserman on Facebook, and Marc Bosserman Music and Musings on YouTube

Tab’s Galaxy on YouTube

Quoted

Therefore, it is evident that the Prophets of God have come to unite the children of men and not to disperse them, to establish the law of love and not enmity. Consequently, we must lay aside all prejudice—whether it be religious, racial, political or patriotic; we must become the cause of the unification of the human race. Strive for universal peace, seek the means of love, and destroy the basis of disagreement so that this material world may become divine, the world of matter become the realm of the Kingdom and humanity attain to the world of perfection. 1


  1. ʻAbduʼl-Bahá. The Promulgation of Universal Peace: Talks Delivered by ʻAbduʼl-Bahá during His Visit to the United States and Canada in 1912. Edited by Howard MacNutt. 2nd ed. Wilmette, Ill: Baháʼí Publishing Trust, 1982, 162-163. https://www.bahai.org/library/authoritative-texts/abdul-baha/promulgation-universal-peace/12#113894423. [return]