Fidál, 19 ‘Ilm (Knowledge), 178 B.E.

Seen

Done

  • Raked leaves
  • Reformatted “Daily Log” postings

Noted

Happy Birthday, son!

Your time as a “thirtysomething” is rapidly drawing to a close—enjoy it while you can!

Astral Prospecting on Instagram

Chinese mantis (Tenodera sinensis)

Marc Bosserman on Instagram and Marc Bosserman Music and Musings on YouTube - You Are the Sunshine of My Life

Tab’s Galaxy on YouTube

Quoted

Sadly, a long list of atrocities committed in the name of this religion in the recent past can be given, but my intention here is to explain that at one point I came to realize that Islam has often been considered one of the three great monotheistic religions, and as such it must contain an inner substance that was not seen because of all the negative hype surrounding it. Otherwise, I reasoned, the teachings of Mohammed could not have spread and endured the test of time.

I therefore decided to methodically study the central source of Islam, the Quran, for myself. One of my professors in a research methodology class often said: “When in doubt, go to the source.” That was good advice for me as I wanted to find for myself the teachings of a religion towards which I had mixed feelings. In my choice of the versions translated into English I found The Meaning of the Glorious Quran by Marmaduke Pickthall most useful. I also received help from friends in reading and understanding the Arabic version. I referred to the Persian translation of the Quran as well. All in all I read most of the Book seven times, and several sections several times more.

I attempted to read and comprehend this divine book putting aside all my preconceived notions; I repeatedly told myself that God’s revelation cannot be judged by the wrongdoings of a handful of supposed followers; that is not fair to paint everything and everyone with a broad brush. What follows is my understanding of the main teachings of the Quran. 1


My sister and brother-in-law recently relocated and chose to donate several books in their library rather than move them. Many of these volumes are not well-known, but due to the topics they cover and the manner in which their authors explore them, they warrant a nod of recognition before being sent on their way. Accordingly, most quotes referenced in the “Quoted” section come from these books. Maybe they will stir (or renew) your interest, too.


  1. Monjazeb, Arashmidos. A Closer Look: Reading the Quran of Central Meanings. 1st ed., Bahá’í Distribution Service, 1997, ii-iii. [return]